HEARD YA MISSED ME?! Well I’m back!

It’s been a while, admittedly, but I’m totally ready to commit myself to updating this blog on a weekly basis. I won’t leave you like last time, this time it’s for keeps, baby. I’m going for a slightly different approach now though, by linking up with my Mixcloud account, and by doing this, I’ll upload a mix each week to link up the music that’s been rattling round in my head. Cathartic, don’tcha think?

The good news is, I’ve been offered a cool weekly night in The Attic, starting next Thursday. It’s free, every week, and I call it POPTONES. The whole idea is brilliant, and shows an amazing degree of trust on behalf of the venue, something I’ve come to really appreciate about the place. I pretty much get free reign creatively over what I can play, and for the most part I’m going to be playing truly alternative music, from the afrobeat of Fela Kuti, to the experimental noise of Sonic Youth. I hope you’ll be able to come down for it one time!

In my first mix, I’ve included shoulda woulda coulda Mercury Prize ’12 winners Django Django, whose first record I’m still utterly mesmerised by. Some old school rap courtesy of Kool G Rap and Gang Starr, 80s ragga vibes from Tenor Saw and Johnny Osbourne, an inappropriate amount of alternative and punk related business, from Suicide, Can, and prototypical punk rockers, The Troggs, who obviously massively influenced the mixes opening artist, Bad Brains. All of this is capped off with Public Image Ltd., whose track Pop Tones, not only continues to influence and inform my music taste, but also helpfully gave a name to the night.

Cool anyway. If you have any stuff you think I should hear, don’t hesitate to send me a message, for real!

Hope you enjoy the mix!

HERE IT IS: